gallery

Jan Martel apartment
The small duplex on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the Hôtel Martel was occupied by Jan Martel and his family. It is laid out around the main stairwell, the 2nd floor entrance opening on to the living-dining room, which extends at the same level out to a south-facing terrace. The upper floor is reached by interior stairs up to a landing, which serves two bedrooms and a bathroom.
This apartment survived almost in its original state and conserves many fine examples of Mallet-Stevens’ experimental designs.

Jean Prouvé also designed several pieces for the Hôtel Martel, some of which are still to be seen in place in the Jan Martel apartment. They include:
- The polished stainless steel handles on the two sliding doors that open to the terrace, also to be found on the study door and on the door separating the two bedrooms.
- An ingenious curtain rod designed as two parallel stainless steel tubes carrying sliding balls with hooks on which to hang the curtain. The rod held up a curtain woven to designs by Hélène Henry, which served to screen the entrance to the atelier from the main entrance vestibule. Unfortunately, both rod and curtain had disappeared, but when the Jan Martel apartment was refurbished replacement models were made from existing plans and photos; they now serve to screen the picture windows giving on to the terrace.
- The stainless steel balls used as grips on the sash windows that equip all three apartments.
- The convex door and other metal elements of the Studio-Bar, specially designed by Charlotte Perriand for one of the bedrooms, and which is now in the Pompidou Centre collection.

Jean Prouvé
Fauteuil Grand Repos, vers 1929

Preceding page. The spiral of the stairwell.

© Pierre-Olivier Deschamps / agence Vu - Page précédente © Luciano ROMANO

Jean Prouvé also designed and made various pieces for the other townhouses in the set, which figure in the chapter “La rue Mallet-Stevens, un lieu historique”.
On the other hand, we do not know for certain who designed many other pieces of metal millwork, such as the counter-weight system for the sash windows, the sliding doors, the doors on the pantry cupboard, and the garage doors.
Some of the cast aluminium grips, including those on the entrance doors of all three apartments, are the work of Mallet-Stevens himself and are stamped ‘R M S’.
All the sash windows are equipped with roller shutters, their wooden laths painted yellow outside; they are activated by a cord-and-pulley system reminiscent of a yacht’s halyard. There are also Venetian blinds that retract on a metal chassis, which enables them to be deployed at an oblique angle from the windows and thus act as sun-shades.

Jean Prouvé
Fauteuil Grand repos réglable, vers 1929

© Pierre-Olivier Deschamps / agence Vu

In all his works Mallet-Stevens paid careful attention to colour schemes.
In preparation for the monograph retrospective of his oeuvre at the Pompidou Centre in 2005, scraping samples of all the different layers of paint used in the Jan Martel apartment were taken by a team of curators, to ascertain what the original colours were. Their findings enabled precise restoration.
The colours used reflect the fact that the Martel brothers were sculptors, and no doubt they had a say in choosing them: mineral tones for floors and walls, with red ochres, pinks, browns, greys, all suggestive of clay. And of course there is yellow, which was Mallet-Stevens’ favourite colour. (The casino at St Jean de Luz was painted bright yellow!)
The kitchen was done in two shades of blue.

Le Corbusier et Pierre Jeanneret
Chauffeuses et banquette à pieds courts, 1955

Charlotte Perriand
Banquette Cansado, grand modèle, c. 1958

© C. Baraja – E. Touchaleaume. Archives Galerie 54, Paris.

Three types of material were used for floors throughout the entire building, and they express the hygienist principles of the period:
- Tiling for kitchen, bathroom, interior stairs and terrace, with geometrical patterns and colours created by the Martel brothers.
- Terrazzo for the entrance and living room, with finer components than in the shared parts. Skirtings in brown-stained cement step up from the floor at wall bases to facilitate mopping.
- A mix of brown stained cement and powdered cork for bedrooms. This material is noteworthy for the history of architecture insofar as it represents an early experiment in compounding thermal insulation and soundproofing. As in the living room, skirtings in brown-stained cement protect wall bases.

Charlotte Perriand
Banquette Cansado, large model, c. 1958

Eckart Muthesius
Fauteuils et guéridon pour le Palais du Manik Bagh, Indore, c.1930

© C. Baraja – E. Touchaleaume. Archives Galerie 54, Paris.

The living room, amply lit by a double picture window, extends out to a terrace accessible by a door designed as four glazed panels, the two central leaves of which slide to either side, on the same principle as the main entrance to the building.
Originally the living room had a made-to-order fit-out designed by Francis Jourdain, consisting mainly of wooden storage units sliding on steel rails. The entire set was purchased by the Pompidou Centre in 2006 from the heirs of the Martel family.
Period photos of the living room also show tube metal pieces made by Thonet, in particular models designed by Marcel Breuer.
All rooms have the same type of ceiling light: a frosted glass plaque that diffuses light shed by a bulb fitted into the ceiling.
A curtain designed by Hélène Henry separated the entrance from the living room. A line of red terra cotta mosaic in the granito floor also established a virtual threshold between the two spaces

Le Corbusier et Pierre Jeanneret
Chauffeuses et banquette à pieds courts, 1955

Charlotte Perriand
Banquette Cansado, c. 1958

© C. Baraja – E. Touchaleaume. Archives Galerie 54, Paris.

On the terrace, a large planter in untreated concrete contrasts with the rough textured white render of the wall against which it is placed.
Guard rails in the form of steel tubes painted black are surmounted by tube frames on which canvas covers may be stretched in order to ensure privacy.
A door (now condemned) formerly enabled direct access from the 1st floor apartment occupied by Joël to the terrace of his brother Jan’s apartment above.
A door mounted on rails opened onto a small pantry in front of the kitchen, which was designed by Mallet-Stevens. This functional space was abundantly fitted out with storage units and had a food safe built into the external wall.
The interior stairs of the apartment, which wrap around the cylindrical shaft of the building’s main stairwell, lead to a landing that serves the two bedrooms and the bathroom.
The landing features a built-in storage unit with three drawers opening in a splay, attributed to Djo-Bourgeois. Its back follows the curved shaft of the main stairwell, which shows how important space-saving was to the designers.

Jean Prouvé
Table Flavigny ou Granito, 1945

Jean Prouvé
Chaises Tropique, c. 1950

© Photo Galerie 54, Paris.

The south bedroom, which looks out onto the terrace, still has all its original furnishings. There is a bed, a cosy-corner and a wardrobe; the two latter pieces – like the ones that Jourdain designed for the living room – are suspended to enable easy cleaning of the floor under them.
There are also some very functional storage units, equipped with mirror door, moveable arm, fold-up tablets, sliding covers, drawers with collapsible face or that open in splay… All of these pieces were designed by Mallet-Stevens, with input by the owners; they were made by cabinetmaker Jean Bonino and have a cherry wood veneer.
In the adjoining bedroom, the Studio-Bar designed by Charlotte Perriand and made by Jean Prouvé, which is now in the collections of the Pompidou Centre, has been replaced by two Brazza type wardrobes, attributed to Prouvé and Perriand, which come from the Unité d’Habitation Air France at Brazzaville, 1951.

Pierre Jeanneret
Fauteuil Committee chair, c.1953-54

Le Corbusier et Pierre Jeanneret
Chauffeuse à pieds courts, 1955

Charlotte Perriand
Banquette Cansado, c. 1958

© C. Baraja – E. Touchaleaume. Archives Galerie 54, Paris.

Pierre Jeanneret
Table de lecture, c.1963-64

Jean Prouvé & Charlotte Perriand
Placards Brazza, 1952

© Photo Olivier Amsellem.

Jean Prouvé
Rayonnage mural, 1936

© Pierre-Olivier Deschamps / agence Vu

Pierre Dariel
Salon de jardin, c. 1926

© Pierre-Olivier Deschamps / agence Vu

go back
go forward
go forward

gallery

L’appartement de Jan Martel 

Le petit appartement en duplex aux 2e et 3e étages de l’Hôtel Martel était destiné à Jan Martel et sa famille. Il s’articule autour de l’escalier central. L’entrée au deuxième étage donne directement accès au séjour-salle à manger, prolongé de plein pied par la terrasse exposée au sud. On accède à l’étage par un escalier intérieur débouchant sur un palier desservant les deux chambres et la salle de bain.

Cet appartement dans un état d’origine exceptionnel conserve de nombreux témoignages  du caractère expérimental des réalisations de Mallet-Stevens.

© E. Touchaleaume. Archives Galerie 54, Paris.

Jean Prouvé a effectué quelques réalisations pour l’Hôtel Martel, dont certaines toujours conservées dans l’appartement de Jan Martel :

- Les poignées en acier inoxydable poli des deux portes coulissantes d’accès à la terrasse, de  celle de l’office et de celle séparant les deux chambres à coucher.
- Une ingénieuse tringle à rideaux en acier inoxydable consistant en deux tubes parallèles sur lesquels glissent des boules munies de crochets de suspente du rideau. Cette tringle et son rideau d’Hélène Henry, malheureusement disparus, qui occultait l’entrée de l’atelier par le vestibule d’entrée de l’immeuble, a été refaite au modèle d’après les plans et photos existantes et a été installée devant la baie vitrée de la terrasse lors de la réfection de l’appartement de Jan Martel.
- Les boules en acier inoxydable à usage de poignées des fenêtres à guillotine équipant les trois appartements.
- La porte bombée et autres éléments métalliques du Studio-Bar de Charlotte Perriand, créé spécialement pour l’une des chambres de l’appartement, aujourd’hui dans les collections du Centre Georges Pompidou.

 

Jean Prouvé
Fauteuil Grand Repos, vers 1929

Page précédente. La spirale de la cage d’escalier.

© Pierre-Olivier Deschamps / agence Vu - Page précédente © Luciano ROMANO

Jean Prouvé a réalisé également différents ouvrages pour les autres hôtels particuliers de la rue Mallet-Stevens qui figurent dans le chapitre « La rue Mallet-Stevens un lieu historique ».

Nous ignorons qui est l’auteur de nombreux ouvrages de serrurerie métallique : fenêtres à guillotines à système de contrepoids, portes coulissantes métalliques, portes de garde-manger, portes du garage.
Certaines béquilles de portes en aluminium moulé sont de création Robert Mallet-Stevens et estampillées R M S, dont les poignées de porte d’entrée des trois duplex.

Chaque fenêtre à guillotine est équipée d’un store déroulable en lattes de bois peint en jaune vif à l’extérieur, actionné par une corde montée sur poulies évoquant une drisse de voilier. Les stores à la vénitienne, s’encastrent dans un châssis en métal permettant de les décaler à l’oblique des fenêtres et de remplir ainsi la fonction de pare-soleil.

Jean Prouvé
Fauteuil Grand Repos réglable, vers 1929

© Pierre-Olivier Deschamps / agence Vu

Mallet-Stevens est très attentif à la gamme chromatique de ses différentes réalisations.
Des sondages des différentes couches de peinture successives ont été effectués par une équipe de conservateurs du Centre Georges Pompidou avant l’exposition monographique Mallet-Stevens en 2005, afin de retrouver les teintes d’origine de l’appartement de Jan Martel, qui a été repeint fidèlement selon l’original.

Le choix des teintes est en rapport avec le métier de sculpteur des frères Martel et certainement décidé de concert avec eux : teintes minérales des sols et des murs déclinant les ocres rouge, les roses, les bruns, les gris, évoquant la terre glaise, et bien sûr le jaune, couleur fétiche de Mallet-Stevens. (le casino de St Jean de Luz était peint en jaune vif !)
La cuisine est traitée en deux teintes de bleu.

 

Le Corbusier et Pierre Jeanneret
Chauffeuses et banquette à pieds courts, 1955

Charlotte Perriand
Banquette Cansado, grand modèle, c. 1958

© C. Baraja – E. Touchaleaume. Archives Galerie 54, Paris.

Trois  types de revêtements sont utilisés pour les sols traduisant, comme dans tout le bâtiment, le soucis hygiéniste de l’époque :

- Du carrelage pour la cuisine, la salle de bain, l’escalier intérieur et la  terrasse dont les motifs géométriques et la teinte des carreaux sont dus aux frères Martel.
- Du terrazzo pour l’entrée et le séjour, aux inclusions plus fines que dans celui des parties communes. Des plinthes en ciment teinté brun prolongent le sol sur les murs permettant le lavage à grande eau.
- Au sol des deux chambres à coucher, signalons l’un des premiers essais d’isolation thermique et phonique de l’histoire de l’architecture, consistant en un mélange de ciment teinté brun et de poudre de liège. Des plinthes en ciment brun identiques à celles du séjour protègent le bas des murs.

 

 

 

Charlotte Perriand
Banquette Cansado, grand modèle, c. 1958

Eckart Muthesius
Fauteuils et guéridon pour le Palais du Manik Bagh, Indore, c.1930

 

© C. Baraja – E. Touchaleaume. Archives Galerie 54, Paris.

Le séjour très lumineux grâce à sa double baie vitrée, est prolongé par une terrasse accessible par une porte vitrée à quatre panneaux dont les deux centraux coulissent de part et d’autre, selon le même principe que la porte d’entrée dans l’immeuble.
À l’origine le séjour était équipée d’un ensemble de meubles de Francis Jourdain, réalisé sur commande, consistant pour l’essentiel en casiers de bois coulissants sur des rails en acier. Cet ensemble a été acquis par le Centre Georges Pompidou en 2006 auprès des héritiers Martel.
Sur les photos d’époque, du mobilier en tube édité par la firme Thonet, notamment des modèles de Marcel Breuer, équipait le séjour.
Le type de plafonnier est identique dans toutes les pièces : une plaque en verre dépoli diffuse la lumière de l’ampoule encastrée dans le plafond.
Un rideau d’Hélène Henry séparait l’entrée du séjour. Une ligne de mosaïque rouge terre cuite encastrée dans le sol en terrazzo établie une sorte de seuil virtuel entre les deux zones.

 

 

Le Corbusier et Pierre Jeanneret
Chauffeuses et banquette à pieds courts, 1955

Charlotte Perriand
Banquette Cansado, grand modèle,  c. 1958

© C. Baraja – E. Touchaleaume. Archives Galerie 54, Paris.

Sur la terrasse, une grande jardinière en béton brut lissé contraste avec le crépis blanc rugueux  du mur sur laquelle elle est suspendue.
Les gardes corps en tubes d’acier peints en noir, sont surmontés par des portants en tube permettant de tendre des bâches préservant l’intimité des regards.
Une porte aujourd’hui condamnée permettait l’accès direct avec l’appartement inférieur de Joël à la terrasse de son frère Jan.

Une porte montée sur rail ouvre sur le petit office précédant la cuisine, dessinée par Mallet-Stevens. Cet espace fonctionnel est équipé de nombreux rangements et d’un garde-manger encastré dans le mur extérieur.

L’escalier intérieur de l’appartement, s’enroulant autour du cylindre de l’escalier de l’immeuble accède au palier desservant les deux chambres et la salle de bain.

Sur le palier, un meuble de rangement encastré à trois tiroirs ouvrant en épis, attribué à Djo-Bourgeois, épouse la courbe du cylindre de la cage d’escalier, témoignant de la recherche poussée sur le gain d’espace.

 

Jean Prouvé
Table Flavigny ou Granito, 1945

Jean Prouvé
Chaises Tropique, c. 1950

© Photo Galerie 54, Paris.

La chambre sud avec vue sur la terrasse, possède encore son mobilier d’origine. Un lit, un cosy-corner et une penderie, ces deux derniers meubles suspendus, à l’instar du mobilier de Jourdain conçu pour le séjour, facilitant ainsi le nettoyage du sol.
Les rangements sont multiples et fonctionnels, équipés de porte miroir, portant amovible, tablettes repliables, volets coulissants, tiroirs à façade rabattable, tiroirs à ouverture en épis… Ce mobilier en placage de merisier, dessiné par Mallet-Stevens, en concertation avec ses commanditaires, a été réalisé par l’ébéniste Jean Bonino.

Dans la chambre contiguë, le Bar-Studio de Charlotte Perriand de fabrication Jean Prouvé, aujourd’hui dans les collections du Centre Pompidou, a été remplacé par deux placards type Brazza de Jean Prouvé et Charlotte Perriand provenant de l’Unité d’Habitation Air France de Brazzaville, 1951.

 

 

 

 

 

Pierre Jeanneret
Fauteuil dit Committee chair, c.1953-54

Le Corbusier et Pierre Jeanneret
Chauffeuse à pieds courts, 1955

Charlotte Perriand
Banquette Cansado, c. 1958

© C. Baraja – E. Touchaleaume. Archives Galerie 54, Paris.

Pierre Jeanneret
Table de lecture, c.1963-64

Jean Prouvé & Charlotte Perriand
Placards Brazza, 1952

© Photo Olivier Amsellem.

Jean Prouvé
Rayonnage mural, 1936

© Pierre-Olivier Deschamps / agence Vu

Pierre Dariel
Salon de jardin, c. 1926

© Pierre-Olivier Deschamps / agence Vu

précédent
suivant
suivant