gallery

Robert Mallet-Stevens had already drawn attention for villa projects in the early 1910s when, in 1922, encouraged by patrons like the couturier-collector Jacques Doucet, he published an album of architectural renderings and plans for buildings entitled Une Cité Moderne.
In them we see the strong influence of the Viennese Secession, and in particular the work of its leading architect Josef Hoffmann, with plain elevations and interiors favouring a ‘total art’ approach. Mallet-Stevens advocated minimal compositions, with buildings made up of cleverly proportioned geometrical volumes that expressed the internal arrangement. To emphasize his resolutely modern stance, in all his constructions he imposed the use of cement, glass and metal. Rob, as he was known to his friends, attracted a clientele drawn from the intellectual and financial elite of Paris.
But in his short career, he built relatively few projects.
Besides the rue Mallet-Stevens scheme (1924-1929), his most important works were the Château de Mézy for couturier Paul Poiret (1924-1925), unfinished due to the owner’s bankruptcy; the Villa Noailles at Hyères (1923-1928); the Casino at Saint Jean de Luz (1928-1930); the Villa Cavrois at Croix (1929-1932); the Hôtel Barillet, square Vergennes, Paris 15 (1932); and firemen’s barracks in rue Mesnil, Paris 16 (1936), his only public commission.
He also designed décors for cinema, in particular for the silent films L’Inhumaine (1924) and Le Vertige (1926) both directed by Marcel L’Herbier. As for Man Ray’s legendary Les Mystères du Château de Dé, it was shot at the Villa Noailles.
The décors that Mallet-Stevens created to frame these films, which are in essence Surrealist, reflect the elusive poetic attraction that his work exerts more than ever today, and that relies on much more than simply ‘modernist’ architecture.

Rue Mallet-Stevens from its open end, 1927.

© Photo Marc Vaux. Paris Centre Pompidou, Mnam-Cci, Bibliothèque Kandinsky, fonds Mallet-Stevens, don M. et J. Videlier Martel.

Already ill, Mallet-Stevens wound up his activity after the Exposition Internationale des Arts et Techniques of 1937. He died in 1945, leaving instructions for his wife to destroy his archives. Not until the 1980s did his œuvre receive its just acclaim, when his major works – some already badly disfigured – were saved in extremis from destruction thanks to the efforts of a handful of aficionados.
Of all Mallet-Stevens’ built projects, the Hôtel Martel, which until the 90s was still inhabited by descendants of the original owners, is the best conserved.

Rue Mallet-Stevens
In the mid-1920s a group of fashionable people who wanted to have a townhouse designed by Mallet-Stevens purchased, on his advice, adjoining blocks in the same allotment at Auteuil. This enabled the young designer to give form to the architectural manifesto he had proclaimed a few years earlier in Une Cité Moderne.
Each building in the set shows a careful arrangement of volumes lit by large horizontal windows and capped by a flat terrace roof.
Construction went on from 1924 to 1929, unfolding as follows:
Hôtel Reifenberg. The largest in terms of volume was also the first to be completed. Although floors were added in the 1950s, it remains well conserved.
Hôtel Allatini. Its architecture was the most spare of the entire set. It was totally disfigured in the 1950s.
Hôtel Dreyfus. The smallest of the set, its original owner only lived in it for one year. In the 1950s a large apartment house was built beside it, but externally it remains much as it was when completed.
Hôtel Mallet-Stevens. Built as a dwelling for the architect and his family, with his office on the ground floor. Raised higher in the 1950s, it remains even so in a good state of conservation.
Hôtel Martel. Remained in the hands of the first owners’ family until the 1990s. It is the only one of the set still true to its original state.
Caretaker’s lodge. The last construction to be built, at the far end of the impasse. Its perfect minimalist cube vanished in the 1950s, when it was encased in an amusing villa of indefinite style but not devoid of charm.
The financial crash of 1929 put an end to any hopes of extending the set.

Photo left. Rue Mallet-Stevens, on the left, the Hôtel Martel.
Photo right. The Hôtel Martel with one of the Martel twins in the foreground.

© Photo Thérèse Bonney - Ministère de la Culture - France - Médiathèque de l'architecture et du patrimoine.

The set was inaugurated on 20 July 1927, the cream of Parisian society attending. In the review Art et Industrie, May 1926, the architect had described it as follows: ‘In the street I had the good fortune to build at Auteuil (…) no shops are allowed. It is exclusively reserved for residence, rest, people will find real calm there (…) even its appearance evokes placidity without sadness’.
To build these villas, Mallet-Stevens called on the skills of creators who were more or less well known at the time, among whom were Pierre Chareau, Gabriel Guévrékian, Louis Barillet, Jean Prouvé, Jan and Joël Martel, Jean Burkhalter, Charlotte Perriand and Djo-Bourgeois. He defined them as ‘architects rather than decorators. …their designs do not aim at making a room pleasant, or adding ornament, rather they compose logically, frankly; instead of prettifying, they build.’

Hôtel Martel just after completion in 1927.

© Photo Thérèse Bonney - Ministère de la Culture - France - Médiathèque de l'architecture et du patrimoine.

Martel townhouse at n° 10 rue Mallet-Stevens
Mallet-Stevens had become friendly with the Martel brothers at the Exposition Internationale des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes of 1925, after which they collaborated on several artistic projects. It was then that the brothers decided to build a townhouse for both their families, with a shared atelier at streel level. The father of the sculptors, who helped them financially, would live on the topmost floor, in a studio laid out to interior design by Gabriel Guévrékian.
The stepped array that is so characteristic of the building begins at the ground floor atelier and goes all the way up to the belvedere. Split levels appear throughout the construction, with all three dwellings laid out in duplex.
The central axis of construction is marked by the cylindrical tower that houses the main stairwell, which extends above roof level to form a belvedere capped by a cement ‘béret’, whose underside is lined by a mosaic of red pâte de verre tiles. The stairwell is lit by a tall slit of stained glass with geometrical patterns designed by Louis Barillet, which starts on the 1st floor terrace and reaches up to the belvedere. A circular mirror fixed on the stairwell’s ceiling catches the reflexion thrown up by a mirror at the foot of the stairs, creating the dizzying illusion of an endless spiral – an effect that recalls the Surrealist aesthetics of the film décors designed by the architect.
Three different entrances open the building at street level:
- On the left, the folding garage doors in black-lacquered steel, lit by openwork squares at the top.
- On the right, the tall, sliding, black-lacquered steel door of the atelier, with its frosted glass plaque that reads: Jan et Joël Martel – sculpteurs.
- In the centre between the preceding, the main entrance in silver lacquered metal with two central sliding leaves. Its crinkle-crankle body echoes that of the polyhedral Cubist mirror that stands facing it inside, which was designed by the Martel brothers but is attributed to Mallet-Stevens in the portfolio presented by Jean Prouvé in Le Métal, Edition Charles Moreau, 1929.
In the same book is to be found the handsome wrought iron interior grate used in the entrance hall of the Hôtel Reifenberg; it was the first Parisian creation of the young metalworker Jean Prouvé, who in an interview in 1982 would recall with emotion his first meeting with Mallet-Stevens, in 1928.

Unlike most of his works, as for example the Hôtel Reifenberg, the comfortable and refined fit-out of which was done mainly by Pierre Chareau to suit the tastes of the wealthy bourgeois owners, the Hôtel Martel was designed for artists. More precisely, for sculptors working in clay, plaster and stone. No doubt this is why its modernity is more radical, anticipating by half a century the minimalist industrial aesthetics of the loft.
Washable floors in terrazzo extended at wall bases by skirtings in brown-stained cement are matched by the recurrent use of metal simply painted industrial grey, with sliding doors mounted on exposed rails. Even the systems used for opening and shutting the glazed openings and their shutters proclaim a functionalist bias that does not attempt to hide itself – on the contrary, there is a constant tendency to integrate to the beauty of the interiors whatever is easy to use and good-looking too.

Photo left. The spiral stairwell at the Hôtel Martel with its mirrors that create the illusion of an endless whorl.
Photo right. Stairs in Atelier Martel leading to interior entrance door with mezzanine in the background.

Pour toutes les photos de l'appartement de Jan Martel © Photo Thérèse Bonney - Ministère de la Culture - France - Médiathèque de l'architecture et du patrimoine.

Preceding page and photo facing. Living-dining room in Jan Martel apartment, with tailored fit-out by Francis Jourdain, consisting mainly of wooden storage units sliding on steel rails. This unique set was purchased by the Pompidou Centre in 2006 from the heirs of the Martel family.
Following page, photo left and second page following. Steel tube furniture – designed by Marcel Breuer and made by Thonet – in the living-dining room of the Jan Martel apartment.
Following page, photo right. A curtain by Hélène Henry separated the entrance from the living-dining room of the Jan Martel apartment; a red line of terra cotta mosaic in the granito floor established a sort of virtual threshold between the two spaces.

Pour toutes les photos de l'appartement de Jan Martel © Photo Thérèse Bonney - Ministère de la Culture - France - Médiathèque de l'architecture et du patrimoine.

Bibliography
- F. Honoré, ‘Maisons modernes’, L’Illustration, July 1927.
- ‘La rue Mallet-Stevens’, Les échos des industries d’art, August 1927.
- Marie Dormoy, ‘Robert Mallet-Stevens’, L’amour de l’art, October 1927.
- Photographies de la rue Mallet-Stevens, La revue de l’art ancien et moderne, September / October 1927.
- ‘La rue Mallet-Stevens’, L’architecture vivante, autumn-winter 1927.
- Léon Werth, ‘L’architecture intérieure et Mallet-Stevens’, Art et décoration, June 1929.
- G. Rémon, ‘Architecture nouvelle, Mallet-Stevens architecte’, Mobilier et décoration, August 1929.
- Jean-Louis Cohen & Christian Bonnefoi, Dossier Mallet-Stevens, Architecture mouvement continuité, 1977, number 41.
- Richard Becherer, ‘Monumentality and the Rue Mallet-Stevens’, Journal of the Society of architectural historians, March 1981, number I. Arlette Barré-Despond, UAM, Editions du Regard, Paris, 1986.
- Peter Sulzer, Jean Prouvé, volume 1 : 1917 – 1933, Birkhäuser, 1999, pp. 78-79.

Preceding page, photo left. Studio-bar designed by Charlotte Perriand, with metal fittings made by Jean Prouvé, for one of the bedrooms of the Jan Martel apartment. This unique piece was purchased by the Pompidou Centre in 2006 from the heirs of the Martel family.
Preceding page, photo right. Interior stairs leading to upper floor in the Jan Martel apartment.
Photo left. Shelter nooks on the terrace roof of the Hôtel Martel; note the disc shelves around the base of the columns, the same principle as for the Atelier of Charles de Noailles at the Villa Noailles in Hyères.
In the background, the start of the stairs leading to the belvedere that caps the building.
Photo right. Portion of the building’s central stairwell and glazed entrance door to the dwelling occupied by the sculptors’ father, on the topmost floor of the building.

Pour toutes les photos de l'appartement de Jan Martel © Photo Thérèse Bonney - Ministère de la Culture - France - Médiathèque de l'architecture et du patrimoine.

go back
go forward
go forward

gallery

En 1922, Robert Mallet-Stevens, architecte réputé dès les années 1910 pour ses projets de villas commandés par le couturier Jacques Doucet, édite un recueil de dessins d’architectures et de projets d’habitations intitulé Une Cité Moderne.

On retrouve une forte influence de la Sécession Viennoise et particulièrement de l’architecte Josef Hoffmann, son parrain,  avec des façades épurées et un intérieur reflétant l’art total. Il faut désormais réaliser des constructions minimales avec des volumes géométriques savants et proportionnés, laissant entrevoir l’organisation interne de la demeure. La clientèle de ce jeune architecte correspond à l’élite intellectuelle et financière parisienne. Résolument moderne, Rob, comme l’appelle ses amis, impose dans ses constructions, l’emploi du ciment, du verre et du métal.

Durant sa courte carrière, Mallet-Stevens a relativement peu construit.
Hormis la rue Mallet-Stevens (1924-1929), citons parmi ses réalisations notables, le Château de Mézy pour le couturier Paul Poiret (1924-1925), laissé inachevé par la faillite de son commanditaire; la Villa Noailles à Hyères (1923-1928); le Casino de Saint Jean de Luz (1928-1930); la Villa Cavrois à Croix (1929-1932); l’Hôtel Barillet, square Vergennes Paris 15ème  (1932); une caserne de pompiers, rue Mesnil Paris 16ème (1936), son unique commande publique.

Par ailleurs il réalise quelques décors pour le cinéma, dont ceux pour « L’inhumaine » (1924) et « Le Vertige » (1926)  de Marcel L’Herbier. Quant au film mythique de Man Ray « Les Mystères du Château de Dé », il est tourné dans la villa Noailles.

Le choix de décors de Mallet-Stevens pour cadre de ces films d’essence surréaliste illustre l’attrait poétique indéfinissable qu’exerce encore aujourd’hui son oeuvre qui est bien davantage qu’une architecture simplement « moderniste ».

 

Rue Mallet-Stevens vue depuis son extrémité, 1927.

© Photo Marc Vaux. Paris Centre Pompidou, Mnam-Cci, Bibliothèque Kandinsky, fonds Mallet-Stevens, don M. et J. Videlier Martel.

Après l’Exposition Internationale des Arts et Techniques de 1937, l’architecte, malade, n’exercera plus d’activité. Il  décède en 1945, en laissant pour instruction à son épouse de détruire ses archives. Son œuvre ne sera réappréciée à sa juste valeur qu’au début des années 80 et  ses réalisations majeures – bien que défigurées pour certaines – sont sauvées par miracle de la destruction grâce à l’obstination d’une poignée d’amateurs.
L’Hôtel Martel
, habité jusqu’à ces dernières années par leurs descendants, est l’oeuvre de Mallet-Stevens la mieux conservée.

La rue Mallet-Stevens,

Au milieu des années 20, quelques clients désireux de se faire construire un hôtel particulier par Mallet-Stevens achètent sur ses conseils des terrains sur une même parcelle, permettant à celui-ci de réaliser un lotissement, manifeste architectural prôné dans  La Cité Moderne, quelques années auparavant.

Chacun des bâtiments est un ensemble complexe de volumes percés de larges fenêtres horizontales et surmontés de toits terrasses.
De 1924 à 1929, la chronologie des constructions s’établie comme suit :

L’hôtel Reifenberg. Le plus considérable en terme de volume sera le premier à voir le jour. Surélevé dans les années 1950, il est néanmoins bien conservé.

L’Hôtel Allatini. Son architecture était la plus dépouillée de la rue. Il a été totalement défiguré dans les années 1950.

L’hôtel Dreyfus. Le plus petit des bâtiments de la rue, accolé à un immeuble des années 50, n’a été habité qu’un an par son propriétaire. Il a conservé assez fidèlement son aspect extérieur.

L’Hôtel Mallet-Stevens. A usage de logement pour l’architecte et sa famille et d’agence d’architecture au rez-de-chaussée. Surélevé dans les années 1950, il est néanmoins en bon état de conservation.

L’hôtel Martel. Toujours  propriété et/ou habité par la famille jusqu’aux années 1990. Le seul qui soit resté en parfait état d’origine.

La Maison du gardien. Dernière construction en date, tout au bout de l’impasse. Ce cube minimaliste parfait, a été totalement dénaturé dans les années 1950 et englobé dans une amusante villa au style indéfini, non dénuée de charme.

La crise de 1929 aura raison du projet d’extension de la rue.

 

Photo gauche. La rue Mallet-Stevens, à gauche l’Hôtel Martel.
Photo droite. L’Hôtel Martel et l’un des frères jumeaux  Martel au premier plan.

 

© Photo Thérèse Bonney - Ministère de la Culture - France - Médiathèque de l'architecture et du patrimoine.

La rue, inaugurée le 20 juillet 1927, où le Tout Paris se rend, est décrite en ces termes par l’architecte, dans la revue Art et Industrie, de mai 1926 : « La rue que j’ai la bonne fortune de construire à Auteuil (…). Aucun commerce n’y est autorisé. Elle est exclusivement réservée à l’habitation, au repos, on doit y trouver un calme réel (…) et son aspect même, doit évoquer la placidité sans tristesse ».

Pour réaliser ces villas, Mallet-Stevens s’entoure de plusieurs collaborateurs, plus ou moins reconnus à l’époque, tels que Pierre Chareau, Gabriel Guévrékian, Louis Barillet, Jean Prouvé, Jan et Joël Martel, Jean Burkhalter, Charlotte Perriand et Djo-Bourgeois. Il définit tous ces artistes comme étant « (…) plus des architectes que des décorateurs. (…) leurs conceptions ne visent pas à agrémenter, à orner une pièce, ils composent logiquement, franchement ; ils n’enjolivent pas, ils construisent ».

L’Hôtel Martel fraichement achevé, 1927.

© Photo Thérèse Bonney - Ministère de la Culture - France - Médiathèque de l'architecture et du patrimoine.

Hôtel particulier Martel au n° 10 de la  rue Mallet – Stevens

Depuis l’Exposition Internationale des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes de 1925, Mallet-Stevens et les frères Martel sont amis et collaborent sur plusieurs projets artistiques. Les deux frères choisissent donc de faire construire leur hôtel particulier/atelier par celui-ci, pour abriter leurs familles respectives et travailler dans un atelier commun au rez-de-chaussée. Le père des sculpteurs les aide financièrement et  habite le dernier étage, un « studio » réalisé sous la direction particulière de Gabriel Guévrékian.

Le dénivelé caractérisant la maison commence dès l’atelier, étagé sur plusieurs niveaux. Le décalage se répercute sur le reste de la construction, chacun des trois appartements étant distribué en duplex.

L’axe de la construction est constitué par la tour cylindrique de l’escalier principal, terminée par un belvédère coiffé d’un disque en ciment, dont la face inférieure est carrelée de mosaïque de pâte de verre rouge. L’escalier est éclairé par un vitrail à motifs géométriques de Louis Barillet, débutant au niveau de la terrasse du 2ème étage, soulignant la verticalité du volume. Au plafond de la cage d’escalier est fixé un miroir circulaire se réfléchissant avec celui placé au pied de l’escalier, créant ainsi l’illusion vertigineuse d’un puit sans fond, qui n’est pas sans rappeler l’ambiance surréaliste des décors de films de l’architecte.

Trois différentes entrées s’ouvrent en façade du bâtiment :

- A gauche, le garage à portes pliables en tôle laquée noir, ajourées de découpes carrées.

- À droite, la haute porte coulissante en tôle laquée noir de l’atelier et sa plaque en verre dépoli  fixée sur la porte indiquant  « Jan et Joël Martel – sculpteurs ».

- Au centre, la porte-grille en métal laqué argent à deux vanteaux coulissants de l’entrée principale, dont les motifs en lignes brisées répondent à ceux du relief cubiste en miroir polyédrique des frères Martel, lui faisant face, est attribuée à Mallet-Stevens dans le portfolio présenté par Jean Prouvé Le Métal, édition Charles Moreau, 1929.

Dans le même ouvrage, figure également  la remarquable grille intérieure en fer forgé du hall d’entrée de l’Hôtel Reifenberg, première oeuvre parisienne du jeune ferronnier Jean Prouvé, qui évoquera avec émotion, lors d’un entretien en 1982, sa première rencontre avec Mallet-Stevens.

Pour toutes les photos de l'appartement de Jan Martel © Photo Thérèse Bonney - Ministère de la Culture - France - Médiathèque de l'architecture et du patrimoine.

Contrairement à la plupart de ses réalisations, l’Hôtel Reifenberg par exemple, dont l’aménagement confortable et raffiné, dû notamment à Pierre Charreau, est apte à séduire de grands bourgeois, l’Hôtel Martel conçu pour des artistes, qui plus est des sculpteurs travaillant la glaise, le plâtre et la pierre, est d’une modernité beaucoup plus radicale, anticipant d’un demi-siècle l’esthétique industrielle minimaliste du loft d’habitation.

Les sols lavables en terrazzo prolongés au bas des murs par une plinthe en ciment teinté brun, l’emploi récurent du métal simplement peint en gris industriel, les portes coulissantes montées sur rails apparents, les systèmes d’ouverture des baies vitrées et des stores, démontrent une volonté fonctionnaliste qui ne cherche pas à s’en cacher mais qui au contraire en tire un parti esthétique, allié  à l’agrément d’utilisation et à la beauté des volumes.

Photo gauche. La spirale de la cage d’escalier de l’Hôtel Martel et son jeu de miroirs donnant l’illusion d’un puit sans fond..
Photo droite. Escalier intérieur de l’Atelier Martel menant à la porte d’entrée intérieure et la mezzanine du fond.

Pour toutes les photos de l'appartement de Jan Martel © Photo Thérèse Bonney - Ministère de la Culture - France - Médiathèque de l'architecture et du patrimoine.

Page précédente et photo en vis à vis.  Le séjour – salle à manger de l’appartement de Jan Martel était équipée d’un ensemble de meubles de Francis Jourdain, réalisé sur commande, consistant pour l’essentiel en casiers de bois coulissants sur des rails en acier. Cet ensemble unique a été acquis par le Centre Georges Pompidou en 2006 auprès des héritiers Martel.

Page suivante, photo gauche et deuxième page suivante. Du mobilier en tube de Marcel Breuer édité par la firme Thonet, équipait le séjour – salle à manger de l’appartement de Jan Martel.
Page suivante, photo droite. Un rideau d’Hélène Henry séparait l’entrée du séjour – salle à manger de l’appartement de Jan Martel, une ligne de mosaïque rouge terre cuite encastrée dans le sol en granito établie une sorte de seuil virtuel entre les deux zones.

Pour toutes les photos de l'appartement de Jan Martel © Photo Thérèse Bonney - Ministère de la Culture - France - Médiathèque de l'architecture et du patrimoine.

Bibliographie

- F. Honoré, Maisons modernes, L’illustration, juillet 1927.
- La rue Mallet-Stevens, Les échos des industries d’art, août 1927.
- Marie Dormoy, Robert Mallet-Stevens, L’amour de l’art, octobre 1927.
- Photographies de la rue Mallet-Stevens, La revue de l’art ancien et moderne, septembre / octobre 1927.
- La rue Mallet-Stevens, L’architecture vivante, hiver / automne 1927.
- Léon Werth, L’architecture intérieure et Mallet-Stevens, Art et décoration, juin 1929.
- G. Rémon, Architecture nouvelle, Mallet-Stevens architecte, Mobilier et décoration, août 1929.
- Jean-Louis Cohen et Christian Bonnefoi, Dossier Mallet-Stevens, Architecture mouvement continuité, 1977, numéro 41.
- Richard Becherer, Monumentality and the Rue Mallet-Stevens, Journal of the Society of architectural historians, March 1981, number I.- Arlette Barré-Despond, UAM, éditions du regard, Paris, 1986.
- Peter Sulzer, Jean Prouvé volume 1 : 1917 – 1933, Birkhäuser, 1999, p. 78-79.

Page précédente, photo gauche. Un  bar d’appartement de Charlotte Perriand dont les parties métalliques sont réalisées par Jean Prouvé, équipait la pièce mitoyenne de la chambre à coucher, à l’étage de l’appartement de Jan Martel.  Cet ensemble unique a été acquis par le Centre Georges Pompidou en 2006 auprès des héritiers Martel.
Page précédente, photo droite. Escalier intérieur menant à l’étage dans l’appartement de Jan Martel.

Photo gauche. Abris sur le toit terrasse de l’Hôtel Martel, à remarquer les dessertes circulaires entourant les deux colonnes selon le même principe que dans l’Atelier de Charles de Noailles dans la Villa Noailles à Hyères.
En fond, le départ de l’escalier du mirador couronnant l’édifice.
Photo droite. Portion de l’escalier central du bâtiment et porte d’entrée vitrée du studio du père des sculpteurs au dernier étage du bâtiment.

Pour toutes les photos de l'appartement de Jan Martel © Photo Thérèse Bonney - Ministère de la Culture - France - Médiathèque de l'architecture et du patrimoine.

précédent
suivant
suivant