Pierre Jeanneret – Architecture

chandigarh 1951-1956

Pierre Jeanneret, much more than the English architects (Jane Drew and Maxwell Fry), embraced a genuine Indian perspective and was sincerely in touch with the country and its rituals. It is important to place his arrival in India into context.
At the time, India was still an exotic, little known land for most Europeans. There were still huge social and cultural differences, very limited exchanges with Europe, apart from England. The deep friendship he felt for the people of India and for his cook in particular, and his acceptance of this civilization allowed him to seek the best architectural solution for them. (…)

Presentation of the Governor’s Palace to Nehru, flanked by Pierre Jeanneret, Eulie Chowdhury and other associates around 1960.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

Pierre Jeanneret’s architecture was now part of a local context. He relied on the observation of lifestyles and created on this basis an intellectually honest response to the construction problems that he faced.
Prior to this architectural approach and true to his ethics, he forced himself to understand the specific conditions of building in India. Factoring this reality into his plans allowed him to meet a triple objective of low budget projects, ease of implementation, and speed of execution. His approach can be summarized in a few master principles which verify the entire production.

Pierre Jeanneret and his furniture. On the left, bamboo fireside chair (ref. PJ-SI-02-A) and street light made by him (ref. PJ-LU-01-A). On the right, a “charpoy”, traditional Indian bed. In the middle, a sliced tree trunk resting on bricks serves as a low table,  around 1955.

 

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

First of all, we discover a great clarity of bias in the plan and construction system implemented in Chandigarh. Pierre Jeanneret adopted standard plans for certain categories of buildings especially the schools.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris. © Photo C. Baraja – E. Touchaleaume. Archives Galerie 54, Paris.

He also paid special attention to the climate which is decisive in the entire local life style. By creating cool areas shaded by verandahs and porticos in front of buildings as well as transversal ventilations through the layout of the plan, he made sure that the city and buildings remained pleasant even in the hot season, at a period when the absence of air conditions could have turned these buildings into genuine ovens unfit for living.

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

The last point is the role of traditional materials which Pierre Jeanneret used express rhythm, cornice outlines in a very simple but nevertheless diversified combination. For example, the bricks are made from clay, the masonry is based on rubble and the reinforced concrete contains small prefabricated components. (…)

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris. © Archives Fondation Le Corbusier.

Detail, wall bonding in river stones, around 1965.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

This disciplined design allowed Pierre Jeanneret to develop a specific, abundant work which while covering multiple programs and needs had to make up the homogenous, yet non-monotonous fabric of the city. Therefore, even though he had to follow the planning instructions of Le Corbusier, he was personally in charge of the construction of housing for all social categories, from nursery schools to university buildings, a host of hotels, various homes for MPs, open-air theaters, the Town Hall, City Centre, the Chandigarh Central State Library and the Gandhi Bhawan, a beautiful construction where Pierre Jeanneret fully expressed his talent. (…)

Pierre Jeanneret at his desk in the Architects’ Office now referred to as the Old Architect Center, identifiable by its chimney in the background. Various pieces of furniture and accessories ”fixed” by PJ. On the bookcase, statue of Modulor, “Bull” painting by Le Corbusier. Taped to the wall is a large collage of Le Corbusier which is later found framed in a bedroom (Le Corbusier’s bedroom?) of PJ’s house. Around 1955.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

Rear façade view. Note the “charpoys” brought out into the garden in the hot season (traditionals Indian beds). Lucien Hervé, 1955.

 

© Photos Lucien Hervé. Archives Judith et Lucien Hervé, Paris.

“To study the earth architecture of the houses, Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanneret used to go up the hills during their free time. Le Corbusier wanted to write and draw in his notebooks. The cousins were fascinated by the sculptural quality of the earth houses”.

EULIE CHOWDURRY

 

Entrance porch, staircase and awning of the Nursery School III, sector 23, 1999.

 

© Photo E. Touchaleaume. Archives Galerie 54, Paris.

“How could I not be enthralled, when strolling through the city in search of Pierre Jeanneret’s minimalist architecture I stumbled on a delicate little construction full of architectural treasures, which was even just a nursery school, reminiscent of the purist designs of the 1930s, produced together with Le Corbusier.”

 

 Curved short walls, modeled on the traditional walls of the neighboring villages. Nursery School II, sector 16 (1955-56), Lucien Hervé 1955.

 

© Photos Lucien Hervé. Archives Judith et Lucien Hervé, Paris.

Façade of Pierre Jeanneret’s house 

”4J” type, designed for senior officers, this simple and homely house reflects the personality of its occupant, both in the architecture and its interior decoration. Pierre Jeanneret lived here during its construction from 1954 to 1965. We see the use of local materials and components of his Indian architectural vocabulary, expressed in multiple combinations in the different types of housing designed for Chandigarh, from the “peon’s house” to the city’s four large private residences its affluent citizens. Overhanging or retreating entrance porch, narrow openings to “trap” light – jutting ledges, square or triangular – roof terrace, are all features of these constructions.

The contrast of walls built with river pebbles, brick screen walls and sparkling white rendered surfaces reveals an elegant and orderly modenature.

© Photos Lucien Hervé. Archives Judith et Lucien Hervé, Paris.

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

Edited photo. Subdivision for the private houses (“2 J” type), Lucien Hervé 1955.

 

© Photos Lucien Hervé. Archives Judith et Lucien Hervé, Paris.

Entrance portico “Hostel for Boys” of the College of Polytechnic, around 1960.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

M.L.A. Flat. Block of flats for civil servants. (Members Legislative Assembly). Several units. 1956-1966, around 1960.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

Rear façade of the Art Block with deep recesses serving as brise-soleil, around 1965.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

“Pagoda” silhouette of the Administrative building, reflecting in its pool, around 1965.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

 Open-air Theater, bleachers, around 1965.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

Primary School (1961), around 1961.
- Balcony detail of the “Hostel for Boys”, Lucien Hervé 1961.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris. © Photos Lucien Hervé. Archives Judith et Lucien Hervé, Paris.

 Gandhi Bhawan, around 1965.

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

 

 

Gandhi Bhawan. 1966, around 1970.

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

At the same time, Pierre Jeanneret executed his mission with the resources available in place and brought Le Corbusier’s vision for Chandigarh to life. He built the Capitol, the High Court of Justice, the Legislative Assembly and the Secretariat building. This work is done together by the two men, whenever Le Corbusier went to Chandigarh each year and continued through an abundant correspondence between the two after his departure. (…)

- P.L. Varma, Chief Engineer, Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanneret. In foreground, architect’s table (ref. PJ-TAT-04-A).
- Sign board “Offices of the Chief Architect Capital Project Chandigarh / Chief Engineer …”, around 1955.

 

 

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris. © Fondation Le Corbusier, Paris.

Pierre Jeanneret was assisted in his work by the Chandigarh bureau of architects, comprised mostly of young Indian architects that he took under his wing and trained. He was known and recognized as Nehru’s friend, accepted and sincerely admired by the Indians. His agency received numerous projects. He was appointed the head of the Chandigarh College of Architecture then Chief Architect and Town Planning Adviser to the State of Panjab. He directed city planning and architecture projects in the cities of Pandoh, Sundernagar, Slapper and Ahmedabad. (…

Architectural classroom with aligned desks and stools, around 1965.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

go back
go forward
go forward

Pierre Jeanneret – Architecture

chandigarh 1951-1956

Pierre Jeanneret, beaucoup plus que les architectes anglais (Jane Drew et Maxwell Fry), adopte un point de vue véritablement indien, en sincère communion avec le pays et ses rituels. Il est important de garder à l’esprit les conditions qui entourent son arrivée sur place.
À l’époque, l’Inde est encore pour les européens une terre exotique et peu connue. Les différences sociales et culturelles sont encore très prégnantes et les échanges avec l’Europe, hors Angleterre, peu fréquents. L’amitié profonde qu’il éprouve pour le peuple indien et pour son cuisinier notamment, ainsi que son ouverture à cette civilisation lui permettront de chercher la meilleure solution architecturale pour ces derniers. (…)

Présentation de la maquette du Palais du Gouverneur à Nehru, entouré de Pierre Jeanneret, Eulie Chowdhury et divers collaborateurs,  vers 1960.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

L’architecture de Pierre Jeanneret s’inscrit désormais dans un contexte local. Il s’appuie sur l’observation des modes de vie et constitue sur cette base une réponse d’une grande honnêteté intellectuelle aux problèmes de réalisation qui lui sont posés.
En préalable à sa démarche d’architecte et fidèle à son éthique, il s’impose de comprendre les conditions spécifiques de la construction en Inde. La prise en compte de cette réalité lui permet de répondre à un triple objectif d’économie des projets, de facilité de mise en œuvre et de rapidité d’exécution. Son approche peut se ramener à quelques principes généraux que vérifie l’ensemble de sa production.

Pierre Jeanneret et ses meubles. A gauche chauffeuse en bambou (réf. PJ-SI-02-A) et lampadaire de sa fabrication (réf. PJ-LU-01-A). A droite, un « charpoï », lit traditionnel indien. Au centre, en guise de table basse, une tranche de tronc d’arbre posée sur des briques,  vers 1955.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

On retrouve tout d’abord une extrême clarté du parti pris, du plan et du système constructif mis en place à Chandigarh. Pierre Jeanneret procède à l’adoption de plans types pour certaines catégories de bâtiments et en particulier les écoles.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris. © Photo C. Baraja – E. Touchaleaume. Archives Galerie 54, Paris.

Il portera également une attention particulière au climat dont tout le mode de vie local dépend. En créant des zones de fraîcheur par des vérandas et des portiques devant les constructions ainsi que des ventilations transversales par la disposition du plan, il rend la ville et les bâtiments supportables en été, à une époque où l’absence de systèmes de climatisation aurait pu faire de ces bâtiments de véritables fournaises inhabitables.

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

Le dernier point est l’utilisation expressive des matériaux traditionnels dont Pierre Jeanneret exploite les possibilités de rythme, modénature dans une combinaison très simple mais néanmoins diversifiée. Ainsi, les briques sont montées à l’argile, la maçonnerie est faite à base de moellons et le béton armé est composé de petits éléments préfabriqués. (…)

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris. © Archives Fondation Le Corbusier.

Détail appareillage d’un mur en galet de rivière, vers 1965.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

Cette rigueur de la conception permet à Pierre Jeanneret de réaliser une œuvre propre abondante et qui tout en couvrant une multiplicité de programmes et de besoins doit également constituer le tissu homogène et non monotone de la ville. Ainsi, et s’il doit respecter les indications urbanistiques générales de Le Corbusier, il a en charge personnellement la réalisation des logements pour toutes les catégories sociales, des écoles maternelles aux bâtiments universitaires, une multitude d’hôtels, diverses résidences pour les députés, des théâtres de plein air, l’Hôtel de Ville, le centre commercial, la Bibliothèque Centrale d’Etat de Chandigarh ou encore le Gandhi Bhawan. Ce dernier bâtiment est une très belle réalisation où le talent de Pierre Jeanneret a pu s’exprimer avec le plus de liberté. (…)

Pierre Jeanneret à son bureau dans le bâtiment « Architects’ Office » dit aujourd’hui « Old Architect Center », identifiable à la cheminée en arrière plan. Divers meubles et accessoires « bricolés » par Pierre Jeanneret. Sur la bibliothèque, statuette du Modulor, peinture « Taureau » de Le Corbusier. Fixé au mur à l’aide de ruban l’adhésif, un grand collage de Le Corbusier que l’on retrouve plus tard encadré sous-verre dans une chambre (celle de Le Corbusier ?) de la maison de PJ.  Vers 1955.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

Vue façade arrière. A noter les « charpoïs » sortis dans le jardin à la saison chaude (lits traditionnels indiens). Lucien Hervé, 1955.

 

© Photos Lucien Hervé. Archives Judith et Lucien Hervé, Paris.

« Afin d’étudier l’architecture de terre des maisons, Le Corbusier et Pierre Jeanneret montaient dans les collines pendant leur temps libre. Le Corbusier voulait écrire et dessiner sur ses carnets. La qualité sculpturale des maisons de terre fascinait les cousins. »

EULIE CHOWDURRY

 

Porche d’entrée, escalier et auvent de l’école maternelle III, secteur 23, vers 1999.

 

© Photo E. Touchaleaume. Archives Galerie 54, Paris.

« Comment ne pas être séduit, quand en flânant dans la ville à la recherche des architectures épurées de Pierre Jeanneret, l’on tombe en arrêt devant une délicate petite construction pleine de trouvailles architecturales, qui n’est pourtant qu’une simple école maternelle, évoquant les créations puristes des années 30, réalisées de concert avec
Le Corbusier. »

 

Murets courbes, inspirés des murs traditionnels en terre des villages environnants. école maternelle II, secteur 16 (1955-56), Lucien Hervé 1955.

 

© Photos Lucien Hervé. Archives Judith et Lucien Hervé, Paris.

Façade de la maison de Pierre Jeanneret. 

De type « 4J », destinée aux hauts fonctionnaires, cette maison simple et accueillante, reflète la personnalité de son occupant, tant dans son architecture que dans son aménagement intérieur. Pierre Jeanneret y vécut de sa construction en 1954 à 1965. On retrouve les matériaux locaux et les éléments de son vocabulaire architectural indien, déclinés dans de multiples combinaisons dans les différents types d’habitations conçus pour Chandigarh, de la « maison du péon » à celle du riche propriétaire de l’une des quatre grandes villas privées. Porche d’entrée en surplomb ou en retrait, étroites ouvertures « piégeant » la lumière – soulignées d’un rebord en saillie, carré ou en accent circonflexe – toit terrasse, équipent toutes ses constructions.

Du contraste des murs en galet de rivière, avec les claustras de brique et les surfaces crépies d’un blanc éclatant, résulte une modénature élégante et ordonnée.

 

© Photos Lucien Hervé. Archives Judith et Lucien Hervé, Paris.

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

Photo retouchée. Lotissement de villas (type 5-J), Lucien Hervé 1955.

 

© Photos Lucien Hervé. Archives Judith et Lucien Hervé, Paris.

Portique d’entrée, résidence pour garçons de l’Ecole Polytechnique, vers 1960.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

M.L.A. Flat. Logement collectif pour fonctionnaires. (Members Législative Assembly). Plusieurs unités. 1956-1966, vers 1960.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

Façade arrière du Bâtiment Art à profonds renfoncements à usage de brise-soleil, vers 1965.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

Silhouette en « pagode » du Bâtiment Administratif, se reflétant dans son bassin, vers 1965.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

Théâtre en plein air, les gradins, vers 1965.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

 - Ecole primaire (1961), vers 1961.
- Détail balcons résidence universitaire pour garçons, Lucien Hervé 1961.

 

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris. © Photos Lucien Hervé. Archives Judith et Lucien Hervé, Paris.

 Gandhi Bhawan, vers 1965.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

 

 

Gandhi Bhawan. 1966, vers 1970.

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

Dans le même temps, Pierre Jeanneret exécute sa mission avec les moyens disponibles sur place et matérialise la vision de Le Corbusier pour Chandigarh. Il construit ainsi le Capitole, la Haute Cour de Justice, le Palais de l’Assemblée et le bâtiment du Secrétariat. Ce travail est fait en commun par les deux hommes, lors des séjours que Le Corbusier fait à Chandigarh chaque année, et que prolonge, après son départ, une abondante correspondance entre les deux hommes. (…)

- Panneau indicateur « Offices of the Chief Architect Capital Project Chandigarh / Chief Ingineer… », vers 1955.
- P.L. Varma, Ingénieur en Chef, Le Corbusier et Pierre Jeanneret. Au premier plan table d’architecte (réf. PJ-TAT-04-A). Fondation LC.

 

 

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris. © Fondation Le Corbusier, Paris.

Pierre Jeanneret est assisté dans sa tache par le bureau des architectes de Chandigarh, constitué pour la plupart de jeunes architectes indiens auprès de qui il déploie une intense activité et exerce son sens pédagogique. C’est un homme reconnu, ami de Nehru, que les indiens ont adopté et admirent sincèrement. De très nombreux projets affluent à son agence. Il est nommé à la tête de l’Ecole d’Architecture de Chandigarh puis architecte en chef et conseil en urbanisme de l’état du Penjab et dirige des projets d’urbanisme et d’architecture dans les villes de Pandoh, Sundernagar, Slapper et Ahmedabad. (…)

Classe d’architecture avec alignement de bureaux avec tabourets, vers 1965.

 

© Photos Studio Indiano, Chandigarh. Archives Eric Touchaleaume, Paris.

précédent
suivant
suivant