gallery

Jean Prouvé & Atelier d’architecture LWD
(Lagneau, Weill & Dimitrijevic).

Habitat tropical with standard timber frame.

This series model is derived from Jean Prouvé’s steel-frame prototype of 1958.

In 1964, the contract for producing six hundred and thirty-eight modules to house teachers and provide classrooms was awarded to Atelier LWD, following an international competition financed by the European Fund.

The resulting programme reflected a clever synthesis of traditional and modern techniques.

Designed on a module principle with 8,75 x 8,75 m as the centre-to-centre distance of bearing posts, dwellings were composed of either one or two modules and classroom buildings of from one to six modules.

As the fruit of collaboration between Jean Prouvé, consulting engineer, and Atelier d’architecture LWD (Lagneau, Weill & Dimitrijevic), this structure illustrates their research targeting a system of industrialized habitat for tropical countries, in particular Equatorial Africa with its hot and humid climate.

Unlike the Maisons Tropicales designed by Jean Prouvé in 1949-50, the process retained did not aim at 100% industrialization of construction, but at the series production of a few standard metal components to be used with local materials, and easy to assemble by local labour.

The prefabricated components were a roof tray and a façade panel in sheet aluminium, made in Cameroun by the Alucam plant at Edea, a subsidiary of the French firm Péchiney-Aluminium, and a folded sheet steel load-bearing post made in France.
The concrete mats, like the gable and façade walls (depending on the model, made of cement blocks or timber sheathing in forest regions) and the timber frame in red hardwood, were built by local labour.

The search for money-saving encouraged reliance on the natural resources of Cameroun and led the architects towards the massive use of timber for the series model, to replace the all-steel prototype designed by Jean Prouvé in 1958, which was too costly.

Most of these buildings have been demolished or spoilt by re-modelling, their fragile aluminium façade panels replaced by cement block walls.

 

The roof frame

The four bearing posts in folded sheet steel lacquered navy blue that stand at the four corners are shorter and thicker in section on the series model than on the prototype. Over them are laid and bolted the two robust side trusses in redwood, that carry the purlins to which the aluminium roof trays are fixed by hooks.

Purlins and trusses were assembled by screws and Japy bolts on the early examples built in the suburbs of the capital Yaoundé, but subsequently nails were used to cut costs.

The umbrella-parasol roof

An aluminium-tray roof, with a wide overhang surrounding the living space, constitutes an umbrella – parasol that protects against rain and sun.

Cooling is ensured by constant ventilation of the free space between the umbrella-parasol and the dropped ceiling, with cross ventilation facilitated by perforated wave panels and adjustable blades, known as “Nacos”.

 

The aluminium wave façade panels

This construction system offers maximum flexibility of use. Several façade layouts are possible, which even on the same module may be identical or different.

The example shown on our website has two identical façade modules; they are fitted with two mobile panels that serve as doors, sliding in a hardwood groove (top) and guided by a tube metal runner (bottom), and are framed by two fixed panels.

On the prototype, however, certain modules were fitted with a single sliding panel framed by two fixed panels, with either one or two wall planes.

A panel set is composed of two side uprights in timber lacquered sky blue, routed with grooves to hold the ends of seven large horizontal waves (eight waves on the prototype). The waves are made of ribbed sheet aluminium; they were riveted together (as on the prototype) on the first examples built, and later mounted interlocking one on top of the other.

Specially designed by Jean Prouvé, the waves are perforated on their lower edge to let in daylight and ensure ventilation.

Two vertical panels lacquered sky blue, using the “Nacos” system with timber laths and moveable glass blades, frame each of the two modules.

 

 

 

Bibliography 

- ATEA, « Système d’habitat en zone tropicale humide », c. 1964.

- Joseph Abram «  Le rêve du réel, de la maison du Sahara aux écoles du Cameroun » Faces, 1995.

- Joseph Abram, « L’architecture moderne en France » Ed. Picard, 1999, pp. 264-265.

« Jean Prouvé, la poétique de l’objet technique », Ed. Vitra, Weil am Rhein – 2004 pp. 222-223.

- Peter Suzer, Jean Prouvé Œuvre complète, volume 4, 2008, Ed. Birkhauser, pp. 180-181, 300.

- Eric Touchaleaume, Jean Prouvé / Atelier LWD, les constructions SOFRA, published in 2015.

go back
go forward
go forward

gallery

Jean Prouvé & Atelier d’architecture LWD
(Lagneau, Weill & Dimitrijevic).

Habitat tropical standard à charpente bois.

Ce modèle de série découle du prototype à charpente acier de Jean Prouvé de 1958.

La production de six cent tente-huit modules à destination de logements pour instituteur et de bâtiments scolaires a été remportée par l’Atelier LWD, sur concours international financé par le Fonds Européen, en 1964.

Le programme retenu témoigne d’une synthèse réussie entre des techniques artisanales et modernes.

Conçus selon un principe modulaire de 8,75 x 8,75 m à l’entraxe des poteaux porteurs,  les logements sont composés d’un ou deux modules et les bâtiments scolaires d’un à six modules.

Fruit de la collaboration entre Jean Prouvé, ingénieur conseil, et l’Atelier d’architecture LWD (Lagneau, Weill & Dimitrijevic), cette structure concrétise les recherches prospectives d’un système d’habitat industrialisé pour les pays tropicaux et en particulier pour l’Afrique équatoriale à climat chaud et humide.

À la différence des Maisons Tropicales de Jean Prouvé (1949-1950), le procédé étudié ici ne vise pas l’industrialisation complète de la construction, mais la production en série de quelques éléments métalliques standardisés complétés par des matériaux locaux, faciles à assembler par la main d’oeuvre locale.

Ces éléments préfabriqués comprennent un bac de toiture et un panneau de façade en tôle d’aluminium, fabriqués au Cameroun par l’usine Alucam à Édéa, filiale de Péchiney-Aluminium Français, ainsi qu’un poteau porteur en tôle d’acier pliée de fabrication française.
La chape en béton, les murs pignons et les pans de mur en façades (selon le modèle, préconisés en parpaings ou en bardage de bois en région forestière), ainsi que la charpente en bois rouge, sont réalisés par la main-d’œuvre locale.

La recherche d’économies par la mise en valeur des ressources naturelles du Cameroun a orienté les architectes vers l’utilisation massive du bois sur ce modèle de série, en remplacement de la charpente en acier du prototype de 1958 de Jean Prouvé, beaucoup trop onéreuse.

La plupart de ces bâtiments ont été détruits ou dénaturés, leurs fragiles panneaux de façade en aluminium remplacés par des murs de parpaings.

 

La charpente en bois

Quatre poteaux porteurs en tôle d’acier pliée laqué bleu marine placés aux quatre angles, plus courts et de section plus forte sur le modèle de série que sur le prototype, sur lesquels viennent s’encastrer et se boulonner les deux fermes latérales d’une robuste charpente en bois rouge, supportent les pannes sur lesquelles les bacs de toiture en aluminium sont fixés par des crochets.

Pannes et fermes à treillis, sont assemblées par vis et boulon Japy sur les premiers exemplaires construits dans les faubourgs de la capitale Yaoundé, remplacés par la suite par un clouage plus économique.

Le toit parapluie – parasol

Une toiture en bac aluminium, largement débordante au delà de la cellule d’habitation, constitue un parapluie – parasol efficace contre les effets de la pluie et du soleil.

La protection thermique est assurée par la ventilation permanente de l’espace libre entre le parapluie-parasol et le faux plafond et la ventilation transversale apportée par les ondes perforées et les panneaux à lames orientables, dits « Nacos ».

 

Les panneaux de façade à ondes d’aluminium

Ce système constructif offre une grande souplesse d’utilisation. Il existe divers agencements de façade, qui, sur un même module, peuvent être identiques ou différents.

L’exemplaire présenté sur notre site présente deux modules à façades identiques, équipées de deux panneaux mobiles en guise de porte, coulissant sur une glissière en bois dur en partie haute et guidés par une tringle tubulaire en partie basse, qu’encadrent deux panneaux fixes.

Cependant, comme sur le prototype, certains modules sont équipés d’un seul panneau coulissant encadré par deux panneaux fixes et comportent un ou deux pans de mur.

Un panneau se compose de deux montants latéraux en bois laqués bleu ciel, munis de rainures dans lesquelles viennent se loger les extrémités de sept grandes ondes horizontales (huit ondes sur le prototype) en tôle d’aluminium nervurée, rivetées entre elles (comme sur le prototype) sur les premiers exemplaires construits, puis venant s’insérer les unes dans les autres  sur les exemplaires suivants.

Ces ondes, conçues spécialement par Jean Prouvé, sont perforées en partie inférieure pour assurer l’éclairage diffus et la ventilation.

Deux panneaux verticaux laqués bleu ciel, du système « Nacos » à lattes de bois et lames de verre orientables, encadrent chacun des deux modules.

 

 

 

Bibliographie 

- ATEA, « Système d’habitat en zone tropicale humide », c. 1964.

- Joseph Abram «  Le rêve du réel, de la maison du Sahara aux écoles du Cameroun » Faces, 1995.

- Joseph Abram, « L’architecture moderne en France » Ed. Picard, 1999, pp. 264-265.

« Jean Prouvé, la poétique de l’objet technique », Ed. Vitra, Weil am Rhein – 2004 pp. 222-223.

- Peter Suzer, Jean Prouvé Œuvre complète, volume 4, 2008, Ed. Birkhauser, pp. 180-181, 300.

- Eric Touchaleaume, Jean Prouvé / Atelier LWD, les constructions SOFRA, parution en  2015.

précédent
suivant
suivant